Computers smarter than us?

A.I – artificial intelligence is said to be the future of technology. We are hearing a lot about how its going to revolutionize our everyday life.However there is a scary side to this A.I that many of us tend to overlook. Acclaimed Swedish philosopher, Nick Bostrom raises valid questions about the future of A.I and its impact on human lives in this TEDx talk and this particularly strikes me because all of us or most of us are just drawn towards the advantages and savvy-ness that this technology brings while ignoring the fact that how much we have started to depend on it.

“The dichotomy of current technological rat race is; we want machines to be transformed into humans and humans into machines.”

– Shahaab Tahzeeb.

 

Bostrom stresses the importance of controlling the A.I before its controls us, or they grow too smart to be controlled. This A.I can now learn like a new born baby does, extracting meaning from the environment because they have been programmed this way.
He is not alone in his concerns as his views come into agreement with the statements recently made by visionaries like Elon Musk, Steve Wosniak and Bill Gates. He specifically cites this A.I as a genie in the bottle that cant be held locked there for long for we should not overestimate our power of holding it there. At the pace which A.I is progressing, we the human race could be a major threat to these robotics & A.I. What if this technology turns back on us? These are the toughest questions we need answers too before moving forward because any progress at the cost humanity is no progress at all.

 

Let me know what is your take on this. Do you agree?

Yes this is definitely a bit scary if not all.

Leave a comment